



WALTER HAYES TROPHY RACE MEETING Saturday 5th November & Sunday 6th November 2022 Supplementary Regulations

- 1.**The Historic Sports Car Club** will promote an Interclub Race Meeting on the National Circuit (length 1.639 miles) at Silverstone on Saturday 5th November and Sunday 6th November 2022.
- 2.**The Meeting** will be held under the General Regulations of Motorsport UK (incorporating the provisions of the International Sporting Code of the FIA), these Supplementary Regulations and any written instructions that the Organising Club may issue for the event.
- 3. Permit Number: TBA Status Interclub. The Meeting has been inscribed with the FIA as an NCAFP.
- 4. **Eligibility:** The Meeting is open to all invited competitors with an eligible car (please contact the HSCC Office to check the eligibility of your car). Interclub or above status licence is required for all races.
- 5.Non UK Competitors: Competitors intending to race with a competition licence which is <u>NOT</u> issued by the Motor Sports Association should provide details of their licence (preferably a photocopy) plus a letter from their FIA approved ASN confirming their licence status and giving permission to race in the UK at National Event with NCAFP approval (Art 2.3 of the FIA ISC). A number of countries now have this printed on their licence. Please ensure you have permission before travelling.
- 6. Races: The Meeting will consist of races for the following categories of cars:
 - A. **Walter Hayes Trophy for 1600cc Formula Ford.** This is run over a series of qualifying heats from where competitors graduate to a series of elimination races which lead to Semi Finals and a Final. There will be separate Finals for eliqible cars built prior to 31.12.82 (Carl Hamer Trophy) and 1982 1992 (Janet Cesar Trophy)
 - B. **Reprise IT Tiedeman Trophy:** for single seater cars in classes conforming to the Championship listed in the Regulations.
 - C. HRDC: TBC
 - D. HSCC Closed Wheel Cars: for cars conforming to HSCC Championships/Series Historic Road Sports, 70s Road Sports, 80s Production Car Challenge, Historic Touring Cars, Guards Trophy, Regulations & other eliqible production based Historic/Classic period Invitation cars
 - E. **HSCC Closed Wheel Cars** conforming to HSCC Championships/Series Thundersports, or Invited Sports, GT & Touring Cars, conforming to Appendix K classification H to J excluding classification IC, and Classic Clubmans Cars.
 - F. **Signing on & Scrutineering:** Signing on will be by Pre-Event declaration. Scrutineering will take place 4th, 5th & 6th November at times and location as described in the event Final Instructions. All vehicles must comply with their championship regulations and, where applicable, have available for inspection their HSCC/FIA identity documents.
- 7.**Starts**: Races will be either standing or rolling starts as stated in the Final Instructions. Grid formation will be 1x1 for single seaters and 2x2 for all other cars. Grid positions will be determined by practice times.
- 8.**Practice**: There will be only one practice session for each category of race. Drivers must complete 3 laps to qualify for a place on the grid. Drivers who are allowed to qualify out of session will start from the back of the grid.
- 9. Numbers: All vehicles must display numbers and roundels in accordance with Motorsport UKA regulations.
- 10.**Pits:** Cars entering the Pits during practice or racing must use the Pit Entry Road. Failure to observe Pit marshal's lawful instructions may lead to exclusion from the Meeting.
- 11. **Judges**, who will be deemed to be Judges of Fact, will be appointed to adjudicate on noise, false/jumped starts, finishing order, crossing a penalty line and overtaking under a yellow flag.

12/08/2022 HSCC Office 1 Continued Overleaf

- 12. Entries will open on 15th September and will close at 17:00 hrs on Friday 21st October The Organisers reserve the right to select or refuse entries. Entry for all races will be online. For Walter Hayes Trophy to enter go to <u>TBA</u> For the Tiedeman Trophy go to <u>TBA</u>. For the HSCC Races go to https://hscc.org.uk/events/. Refunds for the races will be less a £25 administration fee, and they will be made only if the HSCC is notified of withdrawal in writing by 17:00 hrs on Thursday 3rd November. All other races and testing refunds will be at the discretion of the payment holder i.e. Silverstone Circuits Ltd or Monoposto Racing Club. Silverstone Circuits Limited. Correctly filled-in entries, with the correct entry fee, will be acknowledged electronically. Reserves will be accepted in accordance with circuit capacity. The maximum number of starters for the Meeting will be 500 and the minimum 120. The maximum number of starters per race will be as per the Motorsport UK Track Licence and the minimum is 15. If these numbers are not reached the Organisers reserve the right to amalgamate races.
- 13. **Silencing.** All cars must be fitted with a silencer if their Series or Championship Regulations require, i.e. silencers must be fitted to all Formula Fords contesting the Walter Hayes Trophy, and both HSCC races For the Allcomers Closed Wheel & HRDC grid races the car must comply with Motorsport UK and/or the Championship or Series Regulations in which the car regularly competes.
- 14.**Tyres.** For races B E in these Supplementary Regulations, the tyre choice is as per the regulations of the Championship or Series in which the car currently competes.
- 15. Entry Fees: As per Entry Forms.

The Walter Hayes Trophy meeting is being organised by the HSCC on behalf of Silverstone Circuits Ltd ("SCL"), Silverstone Circuit, Towcester, Northamptonshire, NN12 8TN for whom they are acting as agents. The race entry fees quoted includes VAT at 20%. SCL is registered in England, No. 882843. SCL's VAT registration number is GB 119 7927 34.

- 16.**Nominated Drivers**: Driver nominations may be deferred but under no circumstances may a driver compete without signing the appropriate indemnity declaration (Motorsport UK Regulation D13.1).
- 17.**The Organisers** reserve the right to postpone, abandon or cancel the Meeting or any part thereof. In the event of postponement, abandonment or cancellation, the Organisers and Promoters will not be liable for any loss or expense incurred by Entrants or Drivers.
- 18. Officials of the Meeting:

Motorsport UK Steward TBC

HSCC Stewards Fergus Whatling & Henry Woodgate

Clerks of the Course Julian Floyd, John Hopkinson, Andy Dee-Crowne

Gary Tanner, Nick Fielding

Race Director Andy Dee-Crowne Secretary of the Meeting Jasmine Walker

Chief Scrutineer Matthew Lambkin Smith

Chief Timekeeper Nick Palmer

- 19. **Results:** Provisional results will be circulated electronically via Race Administration as soon as practical after each practice session or race. Protests must be made in accordance with Motorsport UK Regulations C5.1 5.7.
- 20. Race Results: will be based on finishing order determined by the Chief Timekeeper and/or Judges of Fact.

Special Notes

21.**Testing** – Testing is available on Thursday 3rd November & Friday 4th November for Formula Fords and Friday only for other races. Testing can only be booked via the number listed.

